A Holiday for All

Standard

Holidays are magnificent , they have their own clothes, food, rituals, spirit . I love them and I’m pretty sure everyone else does . But have you ever asked yourself what other religions do on their holidays , how they do things , what do they eat and why they celebrate them . I don’t know anything about the holidays of other religions ( Except Christmas ) but even that , there are so many important details which I have no clue about .

Each year the Muslims in Lebanon get a day off for the Christian Holidays and vice versa , I think the least we can do is ask ourselves what it is our friends are celebrating .

This blog post  is an attempt to know more about : Christmas , Eid Mar Maroun , Easter , Armenian Christmas – you name it . So please if you know anything about these Holidays or have seen any one celebrating them , please write about it , tell me about the little details of why and how they are celebrated . I am eager to know . In return I will share with you how we celebrate our holidays in upcoming posts.

Lets keep the Holiday spirit alive !

Esraa

6 responses »

  1. Eid Mar Maroun is a special occasion for the Fersan’s on all levels! Mar Maroun is the patron of our faith, he was the fist true martyr of interfaith dialogue within the church as he tried, through his teachings, to diffuse the differences between the clerics…
    That’s the bigger picture, now going down to the details, the more personal ones, Mar Maroun’s day marks the birth of my younger brother Peter and the birth of a new love in our family: Suzy (my sister) and Gilbert’s (her husband) who met on St Maroun’s day in Syria! (what are the odds! that’s why some family members say, those who are more religious than I am: it’s a work of God!)

    Mar Maroun’s celebrations start with a morning mass, everyone put on their new clothes, and head to church. Even the priests put on their celebration gowns, the choir is all ready with new hymns. The sermon focuses on St Maroun’s life and his qualities and the challenges of our church’s funding fathers. At the end of the mass, everyone joins the Aboona in the church salon to greet each other: yin3ad 3leikon, kil sine w into selmin, 3a2bel kil sene, kil mar maroun w into bkheir… are the common greetings. Of course, all the Maroun’s receive many phone calls and greetings as they proudly carry the name of the Saint.

    One funny story that still marks my memory dates back to the days where I used to proudly sing in Mar Doumit’s choir in Zouk Mikael. At the end of a holiday such as Mar Maroun’s Aboona Paul used to warp up by a greeting: “Yin3ad 3al jami3 bil sa7a wil 3afye!” then one of my fellow carolers Wael would shout back “3leina w 3leik Aboona” and my the rest of the choir would laugh! I still don’t know what’s funny about that same old joke repeated over and over for years! I guess my colleagues sense of humor is beyond me.

    The rest of the day is visiting family members and a nice tabboule and mashawi lunch or riz 3a djej!
    I’d welcome you to celebrate Mar Maroun with the Fersan’s next year and I would love to have the chance to celebrate a holiday in your home one day…

  2. Esraa, i will talk about Easter.

    We fast for 47 days before Easter, because Jesus fasted for 40 days, and then there is “the holy week” where we believe Jesus was crucified and burried. So Easter day is the day he had risen (it is always a sunday), we go to church then have a huge family lunch where instead of saying the usual “Hello”, we say “Al Masi7 kam” and the other person replies “7akkan kam”.

    When we fast, we don’t eat or drink anything from midnight till noon, but we also don’t eat anything that comes from animals, whether it is meat or dairy products. So basically we go vegan for a month and a half. Fasting is also for the soul… I believe that our fasting and Easter are very much similar to the holy month of Ramadan and 3id al Fitr.

    Also, we celebrate “Al sha3nine”, which is always a week before Easter, where we go to church, then have a walk “masira” on the streets, behind the priest and a cross, where we chant “Hoosha3na”, celebrating when Jesus first went to Jerusalem on a donkey and people greated him with palm tree leaves and chanted “Hoosha3na”. Parents tend to buy new clothes for their children to wear on this sunday, as well as a candle. Each child carries a candle, adults also sometimes carry olive tree branches.

  3. I’m looking forward to knowing about Ramadan, Eid l fitr, Ashoura, and other holidays i don’t know about! 😉

  4. I personally was initially seeking for recommendations for my personal blog and found your posting,
    “A Holiday for All | 7ijabi” Window Shades , do you mind in cases where
    I personally start using many of your own ideas? I am grateful ,Leif

Leave a Reply

