The veil of my hand !

Standard

If you have read my previous  post then you are probably wondering why it is that I don’t shake hands with men . This article is in no way going to be a religious lecture, instead it will reflect on  why I believe I don’t shake hands and it is an accumulation of all the explanations I have given over the years to people from all around the world , and here it is .

I am a veiled woman and when I chose the veil ( that’s a different story ) I chose a complete package and not shaking hands is part of that package   .   I do not shake hands because it is what our religion tells us to do . It is the same thing  as not drinking alcohol , or not eating pork .  Don’t get me wrong it does not mean that I do things without understanding them, but I obey what my religion tells me to do and I ask  why I don’t shake hands and  why can’t I eat pork and  I research and I learn and I discover my self along the way .

A lot of people consider shaking hands an independent issue from being veiled and even though there are a lot of veiled woman who do shake hands , I am from the veiled women who do not shake hands . My veil gives me strength , discipline and power and being veiled does not mean only covering your hair , it acts as the “religious police” that guides me . I wear another veil as well and although you can’t see it ,  a veil that preserves my hands and my hair , a veil that makes me satisfied that I have obeyed , that I have discipline to carry on my beliefs .

When I was in London , the three men asked me , well who can yo shake hands with ? And I answered them that I can shake hands with women and all blood related men and one very special person . They opened their eyes and were awaiting the answer , My husband I said , and I further explained that I knew my husband for 3 years before we were engaged but I never shook his hand and neither did he , we waited for our engagement and it was then that I shaked hands with a man ( who was not blood related )  for the very first time in my life . ” We wish we had something as sacred , pure and beautiful as that , a ” Hala

l Shake ” is what they called it .  One of them called his wife and told her ” remind me to tell you about

All of us have ” wake up at 6 a.m. , walk for an hour , eat healthy , read a book ”  written some where in our office or bedroom , and all of us look for discipline in our lives .  I do not shake hands not because of disrespect , or because I want to protect my self from others . I do not shake because I am obedient and I pray to god that I will always have the strength to be obedient and to spread my story .the Halal Shake !  We all laughed and looked at each other and I could see acceptance and respect and I was proud .

Esraa – Veiled and Proud

One response »

  1. Simply want to saay our article iis as amazing. The clarjty oon your submit is jjust cool and that i can assume you’re an expert inn this subject.
    Well together with your permission allow mee to grrab your feed to
    stay up to date with drawing close post.Than you
    1,000,000 and please keep up the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

